New Perspectives in Cancer Therapy

Immuno-Oncological Therapy at the IOZK in Cologne

Tumor immunology has been an area of great research interest worldwide over the last decades. The Nobel Prize in Medicine was awarded for research in the field of immune oncology in 2011 and 2018, highlighting the importance of this discipline. The doctors and scientists at the Immune-Oncological Centre in Cologne (IOZK) have been working on the role of the immune system in cancer and chronic infectious diseases since 1985.

Over the years, we developed the IOZK Immunotherapy. Our experiences show that we are on the right path: with this treatment we can offer our patients a personalized therapy that offers the opportunity of a gentle treatment as well as the best possible quality of life.

The multi-layered approach of immunotherapy is important to us. Immunotherapy uses and strengthens the patient’s own immune system in the fight against cancer and sustainably activates it against new cancer cell growth. In contrast, surgery, radiation and chemotherapy aim to destroy the tumor through an operation or medication – this is often accompanied by serious side effects for the healthy cells and the immune system.

The successes we have observed with our treatment motivate us to further develop the IOZK Immunotherapy. We can already offer this form of therapy to our patients – even if it is not yet the standard treatment. Depending on the terms of your health insurance, some private health insurances or employer‘s liability insurance associations contribute towards the costs.

WHAT WE DO

How the IOZK Immunotherapy Works

The goal of the IOZK Immunotherapy is to activate the patient’s immune system so as to enable it to destroy the tumor cells in the body or to prevent their growth.

WHO WE HELP

The Types of Cancer That Can Be Treated with the IOZK Immunotherapy

The experiences from numerous therapies show that immune-oncological therapies are effective and well-tolerated across many indications, i.e., many different types of tumors.

Here you can find specific information about the treatment of different types of cancer.

HOW IT WORKS

How we Manage to Activate the Immune System to Attack the Tumor Cells

The tumor vaccine IO-VAC® activates the immune system of the patient and enables it to take up the fight against the cancer cells. The vaccine uses the patient’s own dendritic cells and tumor antigens, as well as an oncolytic virus.

 

WHO WE ARE

Specialized Doctors and World-Renowned Scientists Strive for Optimal Treatment

Our medical and scientific experts – together with our skilled laboratory and nursing teams – care for patients from all over the world. Our multidisciplinary approach provides many treatment benefits to the patient.

CONTACT

Modern Cancer Therapy in the Heart of Cologne

The IOZK is a treatment center with own laboratory in the city centre of Cologne, Germany. Our extensive treatment centre consists of examination and consultation rooms, conference rooms, offices, and modern laboratories of the highest standard.

From the Category: Expert Knowledge

What is Immunotherapy?

The immune system guards our health. Its main function is to differentiate between own and foreign, between harmless and dangerous. If a tumor has developed, the control mechanisms of the immune system have failed and it no longer functions as an effective gatekeeper. The goal of an immunological therapy is to “train” the immune system of the patient so that it can fight the tumor growth of its own accord.

Find out more about the theoretical background in our article.

The Importance of Dendritic Cells

Dendritic cells play a key role in the IOZK Immunotherapy. They can initiate and regulate an immune response. This ability can be used to generate an immune response against certain proteins of tumor cells and thus fight the tumor with an immune response. To produce the autologous tumor vaccine IO-VAC®, dendritic cells are generated from the patient’s blood.

This post is also available in: German

Neue Perspektiven für die Krebstherapie

Immunologische Krebstherapie am IOZK in Köln

In den letzten Jahrzehnten ist das Gebiet der Tumorimmunologie weltweit intensiv erforscht worden. Der Nobelpreis für Medizin wurde 2011 und 2018 für immun-onkologische Erkenntnisse vergeben, was die herausragende Bedeutung dieser Disziplin belegt. Bereits seit 1985 beschäftigen sich unsere Ärzte und Naturwissenschaftler am Immun-Onkologischen Zentrum in Köln (IOZK) mit der Rolle des Immunsystems bei Krebs und chronischen Infektionskrankheiten.

Im Zuge dessen haben wir die IOZK-Immuntherapie entwickelt. Die Erfahrungen damit zeigen uns, dass wir auf einem erfolgreichen Weg sind: Wir können unseren Patienten mit dieser Behandlungsmethode eine maßgeschneiderte Therapie anbieten, die gute Aussichten auf eine schonende Behandlung und höchstmögliche Lebensqualität bietet.

Von Anfang an haben uns die vielschichtigen Qualitäten der Immuntherapie überzeugt. Sie nutzt und stärkt das patienteneigene Abwehrsystem im Kampf gegen den Krebs und aktiviert nachhaltig das Immunsystem gegen neu wachsende Krebszellen. Im Gegensatz dazu zielen die Chirurgie, Chemo- und Strahlentherapie darauf ab, durch Operationen oder Medikamente den Tumor zu vernichten – oft verbunden mit schweren Nebenwirkungen für die gesunden Zellen und das Immunsystem. 

Unsere Behandlungserfolge motivieren uns, die IOZK-Immuntherapie weiterzuentwickeln. Wir können diese Therapieform schon jetzt akut erkrankten Patienten zur Verfügung stellen – auch wenn sie noch kein Behandlungsstandard ist. Je nach Vertragsbedingungen werden die Kosten von manchen Privaten Krankenversicherungen oder Berufsgenossenschaften übernommen.

WAS WIR MACHEN

Wie die IOZK-Immuntherapie funktioniert.

Das Ziel der IOZK-Immuntherapie ist, das patienteneigene Immunsystem in die Lage zu versetzen, gezielt Tumorzellen im Körper abzutöten bzw. deren Wachstum zu behindern.

WEM WIR HELFEN

Bei welchen Krebsarten die IOZK-Immuntherapie angewandt werden kann.

Die Erfahrungen aus zahlreichen Therapien zeigen, dass Immunonkologische Therapien indikationsübergreifend, also bei verschiedensten Tumorarten, wirksam und vergleichsweise gut verträglich sind.

Hier finden Sie spezifische Informationen zur Behandlung von unterschiedlichen Krebsarten:

WIE ES FUNKTIONIERT

Wie wir es schaffen, dass das eigene Immunsystem gegen die Tumorzellen vorgeht.

Der Tumorimpfstoff IO-VAC® aktiviert das Immunsystem des Patienten, damit es selbst gegen die Krebszellen vorgehen kann. Dazu nutzt der Impfstoff patienteneigene dendritische Zellen, Tumorantigene und onkolytische Viren. 

WER WIR SIND

Spezialisierte Ärzte und renommierte Wissenschaftler setzen sich für eine optimale Behandlung ein.

Die medizinischen und naturwissenschaftlichen Experten betreuen – gemeinsam mit den Laborfachkräften und dem Pflegeteam – Patienten aus aller Welt. Die fachübergreifende Zusammenarbeit bietet dem Patienten wertvolle Behandlungsvorteile.

KONTAKT

Moderne Krebstherapie im Herzen von Köln

Das IOZK ist ein Behandlungszentrum mit eigenem Laboratorium Zentrum von Köln. Auf 2.300 Quadratmetern befinden sich neben den Untersuchungs- und Behandlungsräumen, Konferenzsäle, Verwaltung und moderne Laboratorien der höchsten Qualitätsklasse.

Aus der Rubrik: Fachwissen

Was versteht man unter Immuntherapie?

Das Immunsystem ist der Wächter über unsere Gesundheit. Seine Hauptfunktion besteht darin, zwischen eigen und fremd, zwischen harmlos und gefährlich zu unterscheiden. Wenn sich ein Tumor entwickelt hat, versagen diese Kontrollmechanismen des Immunsystems, so dass es nicht mehr effektiv seine Wächterfunktion ausüben kann. Das Ziel der immunologischen Therapie ist es, das Immunsystem des Patienten zu „trainieren“, damit es selbst gegen das Tumorwachstum vorgehen kann.
Erfahren Sie mehr über die theoretischen Zusammenhänge in unserem Artikel.

Die Bedeutung von dendritischen Zellen

Dendritische Zellen spielen eine Schlüsselrolle in der IOZK Immuntherapie. Sie können Immunantworten initiieren und regulieren. Diese Fähigkeit kann genutzt werden, um Immunantworten gegen bestimmte Proteine von Tumorzellen zu generieren und so mit dem Immunsystem Tumore zu bekämpfen. Für die Generierung des patienteneigenen Tumorimpfstoffes IO-VAC® werden Dendritische Zellen aus dem Blut des Patienten gewonnen.

This post is also available in: Englisch Spanisch